Launching snow

Snow in the UK does not compare at all to snow in, say, France, New Zealand or Canada; but when it does come and actually sticks, the nation really does try to make the most of it.

So, it snowed in London on Saturday 4th February.  By the time I was off to bed, it was sticking and at least two inches deep, in Chalk Farm.  By Sunday morning, the snow on the roads had mostly turned to slush, but I wasn’t going to let that deter me from heading over to Primrose Hill with my snowboard.

Primrose Hill

Unsurprisingly, it turned out that the place was heaving with families all bombing it down in their sleds, so by the time I got to the hilltop, most of the snow had compacted into ice.  Not much fun for snowboarders, unless their ultimate goal is to reach terminal velocity in a downward straight line.  Not my idea of fun.

It also turned out that where there was some decent snow, it just wasn’t steep enough for boarding, so I wouldn’t be able to pick up any decent speed at all.  Terminal velocity or snail pace? Extreme ends of the speed spectrum, yes, but not quite what they had in mind when they branded snowboarding as an extreme sport.

Still, not to be completely defeated so early on, I had a little go, but it was a long way off the thrilling experience I’d like.

Why not build a snowman, instead?

OK then.

How about a rocket launch snow sculpture:

Rocket
Rocket Launch

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.js

.

.

.

.

[Edit] If any pedants are reading this blogpost; yes I have seen a number of rocket launches, I’m aware that rocket boosters are also needed for spacecraft to reach escape velocity and so my rocket launch is not completely accurate.  You will just have to use your imagination and picture the rocket boosters yourself.  I hope I haven’t caused you too much frustration; I’ve seen people’s reactions to someone else doing something wrong on the internet, so I apologise.

Leave a Reply

